NSMS Logo

JOB SEARCH LINKS 

Job Search Websites

WorkBC http://www.workbc.ca/Job-Seekers.aspx

Eluta.ca www.eluta.ca

Indeed.ca www.indeed.ca

Job Bank http://www.jobbank.gc.ca/

Monster http://jobsearch.monster.ca

Simply Hired http://www.simplyhired.ca

Workopolis http://www.workopolis.com/EN/Common/HomePage.aspx

BC Jobs   http://www.bcjobs.ca/

Craigslist – Vancouver http://vancouver.en.craigslist.ca/jjj/

Vancouver Jobs and Employment http://www.vancouverjobs.com/

Local Government: CivicsJobs  http://www.civicjobs.ca/index.asp

Public Service: BC Public Service Agency https://search.employment.gov.bc.ca/cgi-bin/a/searchjobs_quick.cgi

Non-Profit: Charity Village https://charityvillage.com/jobs/find-jobs.aspx

 

 

NETWORKING/SOCIAL MEDIA

Quintessential Careers: Informational Interviewing  http://www.quintcareers.com/informational_interviewing.html

JobHunt: Guide to Social Media and Job Search  http://www.job-hunt.org/social-networking/social-media.shtml

LinkedIn  http://www.careerealism.com/category/job-search/linkedin/

        

RESUME/COVER LETTER RESOURCES AND SAMPLES

Susan Ireland’s Resume Site (samples)  http://susanireland.com/

About.com – Resumes  http://jobsearch.about.com/od/resumes/a/resumetoc.htm

Vault.com  http://www.vault.com/resumes

Career Directors Resume and Cover Letter Advice  http://www.careerdirectors.com/jsarticles.htm

Rockport Institute:  How to write a masterpiece of a resume  http://rockportinstitute.com/resumes/

 

INTERVIEW ADVICE

Career Directors Interview/Salary Negotiation  http://www.careerdirectors.com/jsarticles1.htm

Quintessential Careers: Interview Checklist  http://www.quintcareers.com/job_interview_checklist.html

Snagpad: Questions to ask employers http://dev.snagpad.com/blog

         

CAREER PLANNING/EXPLORATION

WorkBC: Build Your Career  http://www.workbc.ca/Job-Seekers/Build-Your-Career.aspx

Job Bank  http://www.jobbank.gc.ca

Canada: National Occupation Classification Guide  http://www5.hrsdc.gc.ca/NOC/English/NOC/2011/Welcome.aspx

 

EMPLOYER RESEARCH

Business in Vancouver:  Lists of top Companies  http://www.biv.com/datatables/

Red Book Online  http://www.vpl.ca/electronic_databases/details/1839

Glassdoor  http://www.glassdoor.ca/index.htm

 

LABOUR MARKET

Work BC – Labour Market Navigator  http://www.workbc.ca/navigator

Job Bank  www.jobbank.gc.ca

VPL Skilled Immigrant Info Centre  http://skilledimmigrants.vpl.ca/index.php/

BC STATS Labour and Income  http://www.bcstats.gov.bc.ca/StatisticsBySubject/LabourIncome.aspx

Best Jobs in all Regions of Canada  http://www.canadianbusiness.com/lists-and-rankings/best-jobs/

 

EMPLOYMENT STANDARDS

Guide to Employment Standards:  http://www.labour.gov.bc.ca/esb/esaguide/

Labour Standards:  http://www.labour.gc.ca/eng/standards_equity/index.shtml

Fired Without Cause  http://www.firedwithoutcause.com/index2.html

 

Small Business/Entrepreneurship

Small Business BC: http://smallbusinessbc.ca/

Women’s Enterprise Centre http://www.womensenterprise.ca/

Youth Business: PICS http://www.pics.bc.ca

 

EDUCATION AND TRAINING

Apprenticeships and Trades

BC Trades Info https://bc.tradesinfo.ca

BCIT ~ Apprenticeship Training http://www.bcit.ca/apprenticeship/

Canadian Trade Schools Directory  http://www.trade-schools.net/locations/canada-schools-directory.asp

Industry Training Authority http://www.itabc.ca/

Ministry of Education http://www.gov.bc.ca/bced/

Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts  http://www.picachef.com/index.html

Trades Training BC http://www.tradestrainingbc.ca/

 

 

BC Public Colleges and Institutes

BCIT: British Columbia Institute of Technology http://www.bcit.ca/apprenticeship/

Douglas College http://www.douglascollege.ca/

Langara College  http://www.langara.bc.ca/

The Art Institutes   http://new.artinstitutes.edu/

Vancouver Community College http://www.vcc.ca/

Vancouver Institute of Media Arts http://www.vanarts.com/

 

 

BC Universities

Capilano University  http://www.capilanou.ca/

Emily Carr University of Art + Design http://www.ecuad.ca/

Kwantlen Polytechnic University http://www.kpu.ca/

Simon Fraser University http://www.sfu.ca/

Thompson Rivers University www.openlearning.tru.ca

University of British Columbia http://www.ubc.ca/

University of Northern British Columbia http://www.unbc.ca/

University of the Fraser Valley http://www.ufv.ca/

 

General Education Related Websites

Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC) http://www.aucc.ca/

BC Ministry of Education http://www.gov.bc.ca/bced/

BC Transfer Guide http://www.bctransferguide.ca/resources/links/bcworkfutures/

British Columbia Council on Admissions and Transfer (BCCAT) http://bccat.ca/

Education@Canada http://www.educationcanada.cmec.ca/

EducationPlanner.ca http://www.educationplanner.ca/

Job Bank: Education http://www.jobbank.gc.ca/education_search-eng.do

SchoolFinder.com http://www.schoolfinder.com/

 

Scholarships and Student Aid

Student Aid BC https://studentaidbc.ca/

Student Awards http://www.studentawards.com/

 

IMMIGRANT EMPLOYMENT AND SETTLEMENT SERVICES

Skilled Immigrant Infocentre  http://skilledimmigrants.vpl.ca/

International Credential Evaluation Service: http://www.bcit.ca/ices/

North Shore Multicultural Society http://www.nsms.ca/

MOSAIC http://www.mosaicbc.com/

SUCCESS http://www.successbc.ca/

Immigrant Services Society of BC Immigrant Services Society of BC

Migration Experts Immigration Visa Canada – Canadian Visas and Advice  http://www.migrationexpert.ca/visa_canada/

 

Websites and Guides for Newcomers

WelcomeBC http://www.welcomebc.ca/home.aspx

NewToBC /http://newtobc.ca/settlement/

NewToBC links to key guides and resources for  http://newtobc.ca/settlement/additional-resources/

Newcomers to Canada  http://www.servicecanada.gc.ca/eng/audiences/newcomers/

Government of Canada Immigration and Citizenship  http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/index.asp

 

Professional Associations

Architecture Institute of BC  http://www.aibc.ca/

BC Chapter of American Marketing Association www.bcama.com

British Columbia Real Estate Association www.bcrea.bc.ca

British Columbia Restaurant and Foodservices Association www.bcrfa.com

BC Construction Association http://www.bccassn.com/

BC Legal Management Association http://bclma.org/

BC Technology Industries Association www.bctia.org

Chartered Professional Accountant http://www.bccpa.ca/

DigiBC – The Digital Media and Wireless Association of BC  www.digibc.org/

Environmental Careers Organization (ECO Canada)  http://www.eco.ca/

Human Resources Management Association  http://www.hrma.ca/

Professional Engineers & Geoscientists of BC  www.apeg.bc.ca/services/employmentcentre.html

Project Management Institute  http://www.pmi.org/Certification/Project-Management-Professional-PMP.aspx

Tourism Associations of British Columbia  http://www.tiabc.ca/

Community Links

BC Internationally Trained Professional Network http://www.bcitp.net/

AMMSA – The Affiliation of Multicultural Societies and Service Agencies  www.amssa.org

North Shore Welcoming Action Resources and Services for Immigrants http://nsiip.ca/ or http://nsiip.ca/information-for-newcomers/

North Shore Women Centre http://www.northshorewomen.ca/